SunblockSPF
The language and labelling of sun protection
Edition of 7 August 2026
Claim language

Net quantity on UK sun protection packs

A UK sun protection pack states its nominal contents at the time of packaging, in grams or in millilitres. The two units measure different things, the lower-case e beside the figure belongs to a separate rule again, and neither number says anything about protection.

Claim rulings13 min

A UK sun protection pack normally states its nominal contents at the time of packaging, using weight or volume. Grams and millilitres describe different measurements, while the lower-case e can indicate use of the average quantity system. Neither figure identifies formula strength, coverage, protection or equivalence between a stick and a lotion.

The required contents statement

Net quantity is the pack field that states how much product was in the container when it was filled. On a UK sun protection cosmetic, the statement normally appears as a number followed by a unit, such as 50 ml or 20 g. It is a declaration of nominal content, not a description of the protection claim elsewhere on the label.

UK cosmetics labelling rules require the nominal content at the time of packaging to be given by weight or volume. The wording matters. The declaration records the intended quantity when the product enters the pack, rather than a promise about how long it will last after opening, how many applications it contains, or how much skin it will cover.

There are limited circumstances in which a nominal-content declaration is not required, including certain very small packs, free samples and single-use packs. Those exceptions concern the form in which the product is supplied. They do not turn net quantity into a sun-protection measure, and they do not mean that a missing statement can be interpreted without considering the product's presentation.

The field is usually placed where it can be found without opening the container, often on the front, base or back label. A carton and the container inside may both carry it. If two visible statements differ, first consider whether they identify different components, such as a main product and a separate item, rather than treating them as competing quantities.

What the label says: a stated amount of product at packaging. What people may infer: an indication of how much protection the product provides. The required statement does not make that second claim. SPF, UVA information, directions and warnings are separate label fields with different functions.

When the pack uses millilitres

Millilitres, written ml, are a measure of volume. A sun protection lotion, fluid, spray, gel or other pourable product may therefore state its nominal contents in millilitres. The number records the space occupied by the declared amount under the quantity system used for that pack. It does not state mass, density, active-filter amount or the area to which the product can be applied.

Volume is readily understood for products dispensed by pouring, pumping or spraying, but the legal requirement is not a rule that every product described as a liquid must use ml. The core rule permits nominal content to be stated by weight or volume. The choice on a specific pack should be read as the measurement used for its contents, not as a classification of efficacy or formula type.

A decimal point can appear in a metric declaration, and the unit must be read with the figure. A bare number has no reliable meaning: 50 ml and 50 g are different declarations because they use different measurements. Nor does an ml statement determine the size of the container. Headspace, a wide bottle, a narrow tube and the mechanics of a pump can alter how a pack looks without changing the stated nominal volume.

For an aerosol or pressurised format, other labelling and safety duties may also apply. Those duties do not change the basic purpose of the net-quantity field. A volume declaration concerns contents, whereas a sun-protection claim concerns the stated performance of the product when used as directed.

What the label says: a nominal volume. What people may infer: a standardised amount that can be set beside any other printed number. Volume can be compared directly only with another declaration of volume referring to the same type of pack component.

When the pack uses grams

Grams, written g, are a measure of mass. A solid or semi-solid sun protection format, including a stick, may state its nominal contents in grams. This tells the reader the declared mass supplied at the time of packaging. It does not tell the reader the product's dimensions, the number of passes of a stick, its melting behaviour, or its protection performance.

The distinction is important because a stick and a lotion can belong to the same named range yet be physically unlike products. A stick may be declared by mass while a lotion is declared by volume. The printed figures then answer different questions. One says how heavy the declared contents are; the other says how much volume the declared contents occupy.

Density connects mass and volume, but it is not normally printed in the net-quantity field. Without a stated density and a clear basis for comparison, a reader cannot convert a gram figure into a millilitre figure from the pack alone. Even where a conversion could be calculated using additional information, it would still be a conversion of physical quantity, not a finding about protection, application or use duration.

Weight declarations can also be used on products that are not rigidly solid. The rule allows quantity by weight or volume. It is therefore safer to read the unit actually printed than to infer a mandatory unit from the product's appearance, texture or category name.

What the label says: a nominal mass. What people may infer: that the number can be directly matched to the ml figure on a lotion. The units prevent that direct comparison unless reliable additional information establishes a conversion basis.

The lower-case e beside a quantity

A lower-case e placed beside a quantity is a metrology mark, not a cosmetic claim. It is commonly called the estimated sign or e-mark. In the UK, it is associated with the average quantity system for prepacked goods. That system concerns how a packer controls quantity in a production batch, including requirements and controls relating to average contents and short measure.

The mark should be read with its quantity statement. A figure, a unit and a lower-case e concern the declared contents and the quantity-control regime. The symbol does not add a sun protection claim. It does not stand for efficacy, environmental status, safety for a particular person, or a test of the SPF printed elsewhere on the pack.

The e-mark does not mean that every individual pack contains exactly the number printed beside it. An average quantity system allows controlled variation within its conditions. Nor does the mark establish that a regulator has individually tested each item. Quantity control, cosmetic safety assessment and substantiation of performance claims are separate matters.

The e-mark is optional rather than a compulsory feature of every cosmetic pack. Its absence does not, by itself, establish that a quantity statement is deficient. The nominal quantity, unit, presentation and the responsibilities applying to the supplied product must be considered separately from whether that particular sign is printed.

What the label says: the pack is marked in connection with an average quantity system. What people may infer: that every unit contains precisely the printed amount or that SPF has been certified. Neither conclusion follows from the symbol.

A screenshot rule for reading quantity fields

Use the unit before comparing the figures. This reading rule keeps the net-quantity field in its proper place among the other required and voluntary pack information. It also avoids treating a prominent numeral as though it were a single scale for all products in a range.

Pack field seenWhat it recordsWhat it does not establish
Number followed by mlNominal volume at packagingMass, SPF, UVA performance or number of applications
Number followed by gNominal mass at packagingVolume, SPF, UVA performance or number of applications
Number followed by g on one product and ml on anotherTwo different measurement basesA direct like-for-like quantity comparison
Lower-case e beside the quantityUse of an average quantity marking systemExact contents in every unit or a protection test result
No e-markNo e-mark is displayedThat the nominal-content statement is automatically non-compliant

Decision rule: compare printed quantities directly only where the unit is the same and the field refers to the same product component. Treat g and ml as separate measurements unless the pack supplies a valid basis for conversion. Then stop: neither comparison answers a question about the performance claims elsewhere on the label.

Container size is not a substitute for this rule. Pack shape, empty space, an applicator, a cap or pump mechanism, and the visual design of the label can affect how substantial a product appears. None changes whether the stated quantity is a mass or a volume.

Why a stick and lotion cannot be compared by printed numbers

A stick marked in grams and a lotion marked in millilitres cannot be compared by simply deciding that the larger numeral represents more product. The two declarations use different physical measures. A figure of 30 g is not a figure of 30 ml written differently. The relationship would depend on density, which can vary between formulas and is not ordinarily supplied as a label comparison tool.

Even two products declared in the same unit may not answer every question a reader has in mind. Equal masses or equal volumes do not state the same spreadability, method of dispensing, number of applications, coverage area, rate of use or protection outcome. Those matters are not recorded by the net-quantity declaration.

This is a label-reading boundary, not a finding about which format is preferable. The pack has a defined job: it identifies nominal contents in a recognised unit. It does not create a common scale across unlike formats. Reading the number as though it were a universal measure adds meaning that the field was not required to carry.

Where a range includes a stick, lotion and spray, the correct first question is not whether their numerals match. It is whether the units match. If they do not, the printed statements are not direct numerical comparators. If they do, they remain statements about contents only, rather than evidence of equal performance or equal time in use.

Directions for application may assist with using a specific product as intended, but they do not alter the meaning of its nominal quantity. Keep the quantity field separate from instructions, warnings, protection claims and ingredient information when reading the label.

Limits of this pack-field reference

This reference covers the UK net-quantity statement on sun protection cosmetics, the distinction between grams and millilitres, and the meaning of the lower-case e in quantity marking. It does not assess whether a particular pack complies, whether an individual item is short measure, or whether a business has met record-keeping and batch-control duties. Those questions depend on the item, its supply route and evidence not visible on a label.

It also does not cover other jurisdictions, medicinal products, prescription products or the detailed requirements that can apply to aerosols, transport packaging, multipacks and goods sold by number. A pack may carry several quantity statements where it includes components. This reference cannot determine which component a particular statement describes without considering the full presentation.

The reference does not compare products, calculate use duration, convert between mass and volume, or judge whether a sun-protection claim is substantiated. A net-quantity field is not designed to settle those matters. SPF, UVA marks, ingredient lists, the period-after-opening symbol, batch information and responsible-person details belong to separate parts of a complete label reading.

It does not apply to a conclusion drawn solely from a photograph where the relevant unit, component or label context is obscured. For a suspected measurement or labelling breach, retain the product and its packaging. The practical reporting route can depend on where and how the product was supplied, rather than on the quantity number alone.

Questions readers ask

What does 50 ml mean on a sun protection pack?

It is the nominal volume of contents at the time of packaging. It is not an SPF value, a measure of protection, a guaranteed number of applications or a statement of the product's mass. The unit, ml, is essential because it identifies the figure as a volume declaration.

Why does a sun stick state g rather than ml?

Grams record mass. UK cosmetic labelling rules allow nominal contents to be stated by weight or volume, so a stick can be marked in g while a lotion is marked in ml. The different units mean their printed figures are not directly comparable from the pack alone, without further reliable information.

What does the small e after ml or g mean?

The lower-case e is associated with the average quantity system for prepacked goods. It concerns quantity control for declared contents. It does not mean every pack has precisely the printed amount, and it does not certify SPF, UVA protection, safety for an individual user or another cosmetic claim.

Is the e-mark required on every sun protection product?

No. The e-mark is not a compulsory feature of every cosmetic quantity declaration. Its absence alone does not show that a pack's nominal-content statement fails the applicable rules. The quantity declaration and the e-mark are related but distinct labelling matters, and the full product presentation may be relevant.

Can I compare a 50 g stick with a 50 ml lotion?

Not directly from those figures. The stick is declared by mass and the lotion by volume. Converting between them would require density information and a valid basis for using it, neither of which is normally supplied for this label-reading purpose. Neither number states how the formats compare in application or protection.

Does net quantity tell me how long a product will last?

No. The declaration records nominal contents when packaged. It does not state duration after opening, rate of use, coverage area or number of applications. Use can differ with the product format, dispensing method, the area covered and the directions for use, none of which is resolved by the g or ml figure.

Are tiny sample packs exempt from showing quantity?

UK cosmetic labelling rules contain exceptions for certain very small packs, free samples and single-use packs. Whether an exception applies depends on the product's presentation and declared quantity. A missing quantity statement should not be interpreted without that context, or without considering whether the item is a separate retail product.

Disclosure. This article names a business and links to its website. This publication and that website are managed by the same group, which is a commercial relationship. The business did not write or approve the article, and it is named because it is relevant to the subject.

The wording note

One email a fortnight on sun protection claim language: what changed in the codes, what a published ruling turned on, and one phrase examined in full. Written for people who write, approve or check labels and advertising. Unsubscribe whenever you like.

Each issue carries one clearly labelled sponsor line, sold from a published rate card that cannot influence any claim ruling. We use your address for the newsletter and nothing else. See privacy.