SunblockSPF
The language and labelling of sun protection
Edition of 7 August 2026
The pack

How to Read UV Filters in a Sunscreen Ingredient List

The open jar, the hourglass, the hand and book, the circled letters and the packaging marks. Some are regulatory, some are metrological, some are commercial schemes.

The pack12 min

On a UK sunscreen, UV filters appear within the ingredients list under standard ingredient names rather than trade names. Ingredients above 1% are generally listed in descending order by weight; those at 1% or below may appear in any order. The list identifies ingredients, but does not disclose their concentrations or establish protection performance.

The label question this list can answer

The ingredients list is the part of a sunscreen pack that identifies what the cosmetic product contains. It is normally introduced by the word Ingredients and uses standardised ingredient names. UV filters, the substances used to absorb, reflect or scatter ultraviolet radiation, sit in that same list alongside ingredients with other functions.

A reader may expect a sunscreen label to separate its active protective substances from the base of the product. UK cosmetic labelling does not generally require that layout. A UV filter can therefore appear between an emollient, a solvent, a film former, a preservative or a fragrance ingredient. The list is a legal identification device, not a formula diagram.

What the label says: an ordered list of ingredient names.
What people may hear: a complete explanation of how the formula achieves its labelled protection.

Those are different things. The list can help identify whether a named UV filter is present. It can also help a person compare the names on two packs, communicate a concern to a pharmacist or clinician, or check an ingredient against the relevant regulatory material. It does not set out the amount of each filter, the balance between filters, the testing results, or a personal suitability verdict.

For a UK cosmetic, the ingredient list is one of the required pack particulars. There are limited practical arrangements for very small packs, where information may be supplied by an enclosed leaflet, label, tape, tag or card indicated on the container or packaging. That does not turn the list into optional information. It changes where a reader may need to look for it.

The UK ordering rule, including the 1% boundary

Ingredient order carries a narrow but useful meaning. Under the UK cosmetics rules, ingredients present at concentrations above 1% are listed in descending order by weight at the time they are added. In ordinary terms, an ingredient appearing earlier than another ingredient in that above-1% part of the list was added in a greater amount.

After that point, ingredients present at 1% or less may be listed in any order. This is the boundary that makes a simple reading of the whole list unreliable. A later ingredient is not necessarily present in a smaller amount than every ingredient immediately before it.

Where an ingredient appearsWhat order can indicateWhat it cannot establish
In the portion containing ingredients above 1%Descending weight order at the point of additionThe exact percentage
Among ingredients at 1% or belowIts presence in the formulaIts rank relative to other ingredients at 1% or below
At the end with colourants, where applicableThat colourants may be listed after other ingredientsThe concentration of a UV filter elsewhere in the list

This rule applies to the ingredients list, not to the prominence of words elsewhere on the pack. A large protection claim and an early-listed ingredient are not two versions of the same information. One is a labelled performance statement; the other is an ingredient disclosure governed by ordering rules.

The useful decision rule is: treat the list as a list of identities first, and an approximate ordering clue only until the 1% boundary becomes possible. Since a pack does not mark that boundary, a reader usually cannot tell from the list alone where it falls.

Where UV filters sit among the other ingredients

There is no required section headed “UV filters” on a UK sunscreen ingredient list. They are interspersed with the rest of the formula according to the applicable ordering rules. A filter that is present above 1% will usually occur in the descending portion, but that fact alone does not tell a reader its concentration. A filter present at 1% or below can appear in the flexible-order portion.

Common standard names that a reader may encounter include Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Ethylhexyl Triazone, Bemotrizinol, Zinc Oxide and Titanium Dioxide. These examples are names to locate, not a complete directory of permitted filters. A sunscreen formula may contain one filter or a combination, and an ingredient list does not label each ingredient’s role beside its name.

Some names are recognisable as ordinary language words, while others are technical. That difference does not mark one as more significant. Standard names are designed to identify substances consistently across labels, rather than to make a formula read like advertising copy.

What the label says: these named substances are ingredients in the product.
What people may hear: the first recognisable filter is the principal source of the labelled protection.

The second conclusion does not follow from placement alone. Formulation performance can depend on the whole combination of permitted filters and other components, including how the product forms a film. The ingredients list does not describe that interaction. Nor does it state which wavelengths an individual filter is intended to address in that formula.

Why standard ingredient names are used instead of brand names

Cosmetic ingredient lists use the common ingredient names set out in the applicable ingredient-name glossary. In practice, these are often described as INCI names, short for International Nomenclature of Cosmetic Ingredients. The point is consistency: the same substance can be identified by the same standard name across cosmetic packs, regardless of who supplied it or what commercial name may have been used for a raw material.

A trade name can identify a supplier’s ingredient preparation, a commercial range, or a particular grade. It is not a dependable universal identifier for the substance that the consumer needs to find in a legally required ingredients list. It may also change while the standard ingredient name remains the relevant label term.

For UV filters this matters because a reader looking for a substance must search for its standard label name, not for a marketing or supplier name encountered elsewhere. A label may use a technical name that seems unfamiliar precisely because its job is identification across products, not explanation of the ingredient’s commercial history.

This does not mean the list reveals every aspect of the raw material. It identifies the ingredients required to be declared, rather than disclosing supplier arrangements, manufacturing methods, or each component of a proprietary blend in a reader-friendly narrative. The responsible person holds more detailed product information, but that is distinct from the information printed on the retail pack.

Readers should also avoid treating a standard name as a statement of an ingredient’s function in every circumstance. An ingredient name tells the reader what is declared. Its place in a particular formula, and the regulatory conditions that apply to its use, are separate questions.

What order does and does not reveal about concentration

An ingredient list is not a concentration chart. It contains no percentages for UV filters, no total filter percentage and no calculation that converts an ingredient’s position into a protection value. Even in the descending part of the list, position gives a comparison, not a number.

For example, if one declared ingredient precedes another in the above-1% portion, the first was added at a greater weight. That is all the ordering rule supplies. It does not say whether the difference was large or small. It does not say where either ingredient sits relative to the 1% threshold. It does not say what share of a complex raw material is the named substance.

The limitation is sharper once ingredients at 1% or below are reached. Their order may be rearranged, so a UV filter appearing later than another low-level ingredient need not be present at a lower concentration. A reader cannot identify the flexible-order segment merely by looking at the printed list.

Screenshot rule: Earlier in the list can mean more only where both ingredients are above 1%. The pack does not show where that group ends. Never turn ingredient position into an exact percentage, an SPF calculation or a measure of protection.

Colourants have a separate ordering provision and may be listed in any order after the other ingredients. Their placement should not be used to infer where the low-concentration portion began. Similarly, an ingredient list provides no direct reading of the amount applied in testing or of the evidence held for the product’s labelled performance.

Mandatory list details and special notation

The UK cosmetic labelling framework requires an ingredient list, normally headed Ingredients. Ingredients must be named using the prescribed common ingredient names. Fragrance and aromatic compositions can be declared using the terms parfum or aroma, while certain fragrance substances may require individual declaration when the rules and relevant thresholds require it. That is why a list can contain both a general fragrance term and further named fragrance ingredients.

Colourants are identified by their Colour Index numbers or other prescribed designations, commonly seen with the prefix CI. As noted above, they may appear after the other ingredients rather than within the ordinary descending sequence. This is a formatting rule, not a claim about their importance.

Nanomaterials have a specific label convention. Where an ingredient is a nanomaterial, its name must be followed by (nano) in brackets. Thus a reader may see a mineral UV filter named with that notation. The notation identifies the regulatory form of the ingredient declaration; it does not supply a particle-size distribution, a concentration or an account of the formula’s behaviour.

The ingredients list sits beside other mandatory cosmetic-pack information, including the responsible person’s name and address, nominal content at the time of packaging, a date of minimum durability or period-after-opening information where applicable, precautions for use, a batch number or reference for identification, and the product’s function unless it is clear from presentation. Those items answer different questions. The ingredient list identifies composition in the required naming system. It is not a substitute for the other particulars, and they are not substitutes for it.

Limits: questions this reading method cannot settle

This guide is about UK cosmetic ingredient disclosure. It does not decide which sunscreen to choose, whether a product is suitable for a particular person, or how it should be used outdoors. It does not assess whether a protection claim is substantiated, compare products, or determine whether an ingredient is safe for a particular individual.

It also does not apply unchanged outside the UK. Other jurisdictions may use different legal classifications, required wording and ingredient-list conventions. A pack made for more than one market can contain information designed to meet more than one regime, so the country of sale and the exact presentation matter.

An ingredients list cannot diagnose an allergy, explain a skin reaction or establish the cause of a medical symptom. Anyone with a suspected reaction, a diagnosed allergy, or a question about medicines and skin conditions needs advice suited to their circumstances from an appropriate health professional.

Finally, the list cannot disclose the complete product information file, exact percentages, test protocols, raw-material sourcing or every manufacturing detail. The reader can make a precise, limited statement: a named ingredient is declared, and its location may be governed by the ordering rule. Beyond that, it is important not to make the list carry information that the label was never required to provide.

Questions readers ask

Do UV filters have to be grouped together on a UK sunscreen label?

No. They are normally included in the single ingredients list with the rest of the cosmetic formula. UK cosmetic labelling does not generally require a separate UV-filter section. A filter may appear beside solvents, emollients, preservatives or film-forming ingredients, subject to the applicable rules on ingredient order.

Does the first UV filter named have the highest concentration?

Not necessarily. Ingredients above 1% are generally listed in descending order by weight, but a pack does not show where the 1% point falls. Ingredients at 1% or below may be listed in any order. Position also does not reveal an exact percentage.

Why are UV filters written with unfamiliar technical names?

The ingredients list uses standard common ingredient names, often called INCI names, so that substances can be identified consistently across cosmetic labels. A supplier or trade name is not the required universal identifier. The technical wording is for ingredient identification, not a description of the formula’s performance.

What does '(nano)' after an ingredient mean?

On a UK cosmetic label, '(nano)' following an ingredient name identifies that declared ingredient as a nanomaterial for the purposes of the labelling rules. It does not state the ingredient’s concentration, give a complete particle-size description, or indicate how the finished sunscreen performs.

Are all ingredients required to have a percentage next to them?

No. UK cosmetic ingredient lists identify ingredients by their required names, but they do not normally print percentages. The ordering rule gives limited information for ingredients above 1%, while ingredients at 1% or below may be placed in any order.

Can an ingredient list tell me the UVA or UVB protection of a sunscreen?

No. It can show that particular UV filters are declared, but it does not quantify their concentrations or state how they work together in the finished formula. UVA and UVB protection information is communicated through other regulated label claims and markings, not calculated from list order.

Why do some ingredients appear after CI colour numbers?

Colourants may be listed in any order after the other ingredients and are commonly identified by Colour Index designations beginning with 'CI'. Their placement follows a specific labelling convention. It should not be used to work out the concentration of UV filters or other ingredients.

Questions

What does the open jar symbol with 12M mean?

It is the period after opening: the product is expected to remain suitable for twelve months after first opening, under the specified storage. It appears where minimum durability exceeds thirty months.

What is the hourglass symbol for?

It indicates that a date of minimum durability exists and is printed elsewhere on the packaging, often inked onto a crimp, base or shoulder rather than included in the artwork.

Is the UVA circle a legal requirement?

It comes from a European Commission recommendation rather than from binding law, and it is used voluntarily by manufacturers whose products meet the recommended criteria. Its absence is not a finding about performance.

Does a recycling triangle mean the pack is recycled where I live?

No. It relates to the packaging material or to a scheme. Whether a pack is collected depends on local arrangements, and a scheme mark records participation rather than an outcome.

How do I tell a regulatory symbol from a marketing one?

Ask who operates it, whether criteria are published, whether assessment is independent of the applicant, and whether the mark corresponds to what the pack claims. Regulatory symbols answer those; decorative ones do not.

Sources

Links go to public institutions and published instruments. They are cited because they are public and checkable, not as endorsement of this publication.

Editorial disclosure

This article contains no commercial links. No brand, product, laboratory, consultancy or supplier has paid for, been offered, or been promised any mention in it, and none is named. Outbound links go to public institutions and published instruments only. Published by Sunblock SPF.

This publication does not name, rate, rank, review or recommend sunscreen products. It rules on wording, not on packs.

The wording note

One email a fortnight on sun protection claim language: what changed in the codes, what a published ruling turned on, and one phrase examined in full. Written for people who write, approve or check labels and advertising. Unsubscribe whenever you like.

Each issue carries one clearly labelled sponsor line, sold from a published rate card that cannot influence any claim ruling. We use your address for the newsletter and nothing else. See privacy.